skip navigation

Thank you, Penguins!

Part of the PAHL

Tryouts suspended INDEFINITELY

Tryouts suspended indefinitely

UPDATE - LCAHA 2020/21 Tryouts/Registration


LCAHA Families,

We have received many inquiries regarding registration and upcoming tryouts, and the impact that the COVID-19 pandemic has had on them. LCAHA and our activities, including tryouts, are sanctioned by our governing body USA Hockey. Based on a conference call yesterday evening (3/17/20) with PAHL leadership, we expect that USA Hockey will be releasing guidelines regarding the 2020/21 season tryouts by the end of this week. As soon as this new information is made available, it will be reviewed by LCAHA and then shared with all of you.

We anticipate being informed that tryouts will not be permitted to be held until May at the earliest. This being the case, we feel that our organization’s tryouts would then not be held until early June. This is due to the fact that Hess Ice Rink was planning on closing down for the month of May in order to ramp up construction and finish off large portions of the renovation. Anticipating the mandated delay in our tryouts, Hess will be closing the rink now, and immediately move into the next phase of the renovation. (Currently they are laying the interior block for the locker rooms and are anticipating removing the trailers out front in the very near future.) Once the locker rooms are complete, the rink could then reopen, and we would be able to hold our tryouts. Again, we are targeting that this would occur in early June. Since our season ended so abruptly, we would plan on bringing everyone back for a week or two of practices prior to holding our tryouts.

In the meantime, we ask that everyone continue to get registered for the upcoming season. We still need to be able to project how many teams and players we will have for 2020/21, so we can determine our budget and set season dues. Invoices will be sent for registration/tryouts, and for the sake of keeping our financials in order, the due date will show as 4/1/20, but the true due date will not be determined until we have a final plan in place for tryouts.

Obviously, this is an unprecedented situation that we are facing. We will all need to be patient as new information becomes available that will affect our plans. We will continue to keep in communication with all of our members to try to keep everyone up to speed.

We will post this message to Facebook, our website, and email out to team managers and ask that they distribute accordingly.

Please reach out to any Board member should you have questions. We will do our best to answer what we can.

Shane Saracco
LCAHA Treasurer

  • Welcome to the Home of the Lightning!
  • Supported By A Grant From The
  • 16U Schmidt PAHL Playoff Champions!

Current Announcements

16U Schmidt - PAHL Playoff Champions

Congratulations to Team Schmidt

PAHL 16U A Minor Playoff Champions!